Skip to content

Spiritual Awakening Stages

Spiritual awakening is the expansion of consciousness. Think of it as awakening from a dream. People who are undergoing the awakening process generally move through the following seven steps. You can go through these levels in almost any order. For instance, one could cycle back to the first level (the Catalyst) after every subsequent level. That’s because we all awaken in our own way, at our own pace.

Some people need multiple catalysts in order to fully own their spiritual power whereas others may skip several stages and end up living the life their soul intended without having gone through the same trials. At whichever stage you find yourself, trust that you are exactly where you need to be at this time. Also know that if you repeat a certain stage, you are helping to solidify the lesson.

The Catalyst

A life-change, paradigm-shifting event jolts you awake. Alternatively, a series of gentler, minor awakenings occur until you are fully awake and aware.

Example Events:

  • Near-death experience
  • Life-threatening illness
  • Depression / Break-down
  • Spirit visitation
  • Meeting one’s soulmate

Typical Emotions:

  • Disbelief, shock and awe –  Having a hard time believing it happened
  • Fear – Not understanding what’s happening

A Shift in Perception

You begin to see things differently and that alters how you perceive your life.

Example Events:

  • Job dissatisfaction
  • Relationship issues / Longing for Soulmate
  • Desire to move / Needing a change of scenery
  • Loss of interest in hobbies
  • Questioning the status quo

Typical Emotions:

  • Discomfort – Your life no longer feels like it ‘fits’ you.
  • Confusion – You’re unclear about what is happening, and you don’t know how to deal with it.

Journey of Discovery

Your field of awareness expands, and new information streams in.

Example Events:

  • Synchronicities
  • Premonitions and hunches come true
  • Prophetic dreams and visions
  • Seeing and hearing things that others don’t

Typical Emotions:

  • Thrills and Chills – Feeling titillated, but also a bit frightened, each time you connection with the spirit realm
  • Isolation – Not feeling comfortable sharing your experiences with friends and family, and not knowing where to turn for help or guidance

Seeking to Understand

You begin to see magic in the mundane.

Example Events:

  • Thirst for spiritual knowledge
  • Voracious reading
  • Seeking like-minded individuals with whom to share your experiences
  • Going to psychics and intuitives for readings
  • Attending classes and workshops
  • Travelling to Sacred Places (i.e. Sedona, Manchu Picchu, Stonehenge)
  • Seeking your true purpose

Typical Emotions:

  • Excitement, joy, exhilaration – Craving more experiences, and wanting to share your experiences.
  • Impatience – Feeling like you can’t learn fast enough!

Developing Your Spiritual Gifts

You begin to consciously seek a deeper connection with Source.

Example Events:

  • Meditating
  • Doing Qigong, yoga, or another form of mindful activity
  • Creating (i.e. painting, writing, singing, etc.)
  • Studying healing modalities (i.e. Reiki)
  • Honing your intuition (i.e. doing your own angel card readings)
  • Strengthening your relationship with your spiritual guides
  • Wanting to heal the world

Typical Emotions:

  • Joy – Feeling the reconnection with your higher self and Source
  • Eagerness – Wanting to share your gifts with others

Owning Your Spiritual Gifts

You start to trust your connection with Source.

Example Events:

  • Answering your own questions and healing yourself
  • Teaching, mentoring, guiding and healing others
  • Pruning and purging outmoded beliefs
  • Eliminating stress (i.e. change of job or relationship)
  • Living with integrity and speaking your truth
  • Being your own role model and forging your own, unique path

Typical Emotions:

  • Happiness – Being able to help yourself and others
  • Confidence – Knowing you are on the right path

Reintegrating with your Soul

You begin to manifest a life that is in true alignment with your highest self.

Example Events:

  • Loss of previous fears, interests and desires
  • Letting go of the need to control, worry, and plan; living more fully in the Now
  • Creating, playing and laughing with childlike abandon
  • Thinking about life outside of 3-D Earth

Typical Emotions:

  • Peacefulness – Finding that inner stillness
  • Detachment – You are no longer as wrapped up in the drama of ego

Happy awakening!


  • Kim Hutchinson

    Kim is a highly empathic Multidimensional Healer who journeys with souls to higher realms to help them reconnect with their perfection. Kim and husband Steve Clayton created in 2008 to provide holistic care for people, pets, and places worldwide. Additionally, Kim's writing has been featured in several publications including Newsweek Magazine's Spiritual Living Special Edition.

7 thoughts on “Spiritual Awakening Stages”

  1. reading this is eerily like looking into the last couple years of my life….so much of this has or is happening right now. i feel like i’m being led down a path but i can’t see it or where it leads…it did seem to lead me to your site though and i’m going to wander through and see what’s meant for me to find. hoping to shed some light and learn. take care.

    1. I’m happy you were energetically drawn to our site, Sherry, and I hope you continue to enjoy your journey of awakening. It was a pleasure to meet you. 🙂

  2. i just went through an awakening recently and have felt so many of these emotions since! thank you so much it reassures me that they’re normal 🙂

  3. I am in most of these emotions right now all at once and it has helped me see that its not only me it is happening to .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.